Cayman GT4-Trophy: Osieka and Schiller victorious at their debut

The winners of the sixth round of the season in the Cayman GT4 Trophy by Manthey-Racing are Adam Osieka and Fabian Schiller. For both of them, this was their first race ever in a Cayman. Osieka, the GT3-Cup experienced team principle of GetSpeed Performance, and Schiller had decided rather late to compete in the Trophy which is organised as part of the VLN endurance championship at the Nürburgring Nordschleife. However, the driver duo hereby also benefited from the bad luck of the serial winners and championship leaders of Mühlner Motorsport who took the chequered flag in second place on Saturday after the four hour race.

Hamza Owega, Alex Schula and Moritz Kranz were in a comfortable lead of the race. Just before the end of the race and before the obligatory mini fuel stop, though, they got stuck in some traffic at the Döttinger Höhe where a car had broken down and was recovered. So Osieka and Schiller were able to close the gap to the Mühlner Porsche. In the remaining two laps after their splash and dash, the Mühlner car was no longer able to pass the GetSpeed-Cayman. Into third place finished the driver trio with Marc Keilwerth, Timo Mölig and Marcos Adolfo Vazquez of Mathol Racing. They got full points in the AM classification for this result.

The additional point for the fastest race lap was allocated to Owega / Schula / Kranz who set a time of 8:49.100 minutes. Another point was awarded to them for the fastest time in qualifying. Owega, Schuler and Kranz were thus able to extend their lead in the championship. “The participation here was quite a late idea of Adam. During winter, I was primarily driving LMP2 prototypes, and then GT3 cars. But if you manage to cope with the conditions here at the Nordschleife in other cars, you will in most cases also succeed with the Cayman. At the beginning, I had the problem that I was pushing a little too hard but then I got it under control quite well”, said Fabian Schiller happily.