Premiere for the Audi R8 LMS GT4

The Audi R8 LMS GT4 will undergo its baptism of fire at the Nürburgring 24h Race. The Team Phoenix, a regular starter in the VLN endurance championship, has entered two vehicles for this premiere.

The crews’ line-up figures drivers of high distinction: Christian Abt, Rahel Frey, Patrick Huisman and Peter Terting will drive the Audi R8 LMS GT4 with start number 17 whilst Joonas Lappalainen, Alexander Mies, Peter Terting and Alex Yoong will be behind the steering wheel of car number 18.

The Team Securtal Sorg Rennsport will also participate in the GT4 category. The brothers Benjamin and Daniel Sorg have prepared a new BMW M4 GT4 for drivers Dirk Adorf, Ricky Collard, Jörg Weidinger and Jethro Bovingdon.

Mathol Racing will rely upon an Aston Martin Vantage V8 GT4 as well as on a Porsche Cayman GT4, both entered in the GT4 category (class SP10). Both the Black Falcon Team TMD Friction and Mühlner Motorsport will also bring a GT4 Porsche Caymann each to the start.

The TCR class at the 24h Race will meanwhile be completely under control of the VLN teams. Mathilda racing will send not less than three cars into the marathon competition: two of the new VW Golf GTI TCR and the traditional Seat Leon TCR. Bonk Motorsport will be represented with two Audi RS 3 LMS; another Audi RS3 LMS has been entered by the Team LMS Engineering.