VLN Champion Michael Schrey most successful privateer BMW driver worldwide

Within the framework of the traditional BMW Motorsport end-of-season celebration, the most successful privateer BMW drivers and teams of the season were honoured at the premises of the BMW Group Classic in Munich on Friday. From amongst the 332 drivers registered in the BMW Sports Trophy, Michael Schrey scored the greatest number of points and was awarded a prize money at the amount of 30,000 Euros. He will furthermore get a test drive in the BMW M6 GT4 in 2017. In the team classification, the Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport became first for the third year in a row.

With the BMW Sports Trophy, BMW Motorsport honours the performances of private drivers and teams who have scored points with BMW racing cars throughout the 2015/2016 period in various national and international championships as well as at prestigious individual events. There was once again a great interest in this intra-brand competition: The total of 332 drivers from 35 countries and 59 teams, amongst them many from the VLN family, were registered for the BMW Sports Trophy.

“Every year, I am deeply impressed by the fantastic development of the BMW Sports Trophy”, said BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt. “Every season, the BMW Motorsport family continues to grow throughout the world. I would particularly like to congratulate Michael Schrey and the Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport. To finish on top in such a strong and close competition is an absolutely excellent performance.”

With a score of 486 points, Michael Schrey could keep his closest rivals Christopher Rink (465) and Danny Brink (435) at bay. Together with Alexander Mies, Schrey competed in the 2016 BMW M235i Racing Cup, which is organised as part of the VLN endurance championship, and won not only the make Cup but also the VLN overall classification. He also scored a class win at the Nürburgring 24h Race and enjoyed several successful starts in other racing series.

“This title is the icing on the cake”, said Michael Schrey when he received the award presented by the new DTM Champion Marco Wittmann. “I had a fantastic season, winning the titles both in the VLN and in the BMW 235i Racing Cup. The victory in the BMW Sports Trophy drivers’ classification, yet, is something very special on top. This is an international title which you cannot win every year. Everything was working perfectly in 2016 and I am incredibly proud of this.”

After the victories in the past two years, the Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport was once again the dominating squad in 2015/2016. With a total score of 1,058 points, the crew around team principle Matthias Unger once again gained the title in the BMW Sports Trophy team classification. “This renewed success feels really great,“ confirmed team principal Unger after receiving the award from Stefan Reinhold, the team principal of the BMW Team RMG in the DTM. “It was hard work again to achieve this third victory in a row. It is true that we had many cars in the competitions but the fights in each and every class in which we started are very close. It is not just a matter of course to score the necessary points in these classes. I would like to thank my team and the drivers who all together have gained this title.”

In total, the Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport celebrated 22 class wins and finally dominated the teams of West Surrey Racing and Securtal Sorg Rennsport (both 809 points) in the end of the season.

The VLN drivers in the top 25 of the BMW Sports Trophy:
1. Michael Schrey
2. Christopher Rink
3. Danny Brink
4. Gabriele Piana
5. Hajo Müller
6. Alexander Mies
7. Rolf Derscheid and Zoran Radulovic
9. Jens Riemer and Dominik Thiemann
12. Michael Flehmer
17. Bernd Küpper
21. Michael Mönch
23. Victor Bouveng
25. Rudi Adams und Thomas Jäger

The VLN teams in the team classification of the BMW Sports Trophy:
1. Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport
3. Team Securtal Sorg Rennsport
4. Hofor Racing
7. Bonk Motorsport
9. Walkenhorst Motorsport powered by Dunlop