VLN6: Successes of statistical value

They finally succeeded at the sixth attempt. After four overall wins achieved by Audi and one by BMW in the first five rounds of the VLN endurance championship Nürburgring, Mercedes-AMG now succeeded for the first time in the year 2016. Uwe Alzen, Lance David Arnold and Jan Seyffarth won the sixth race, the 39th RCM DMB Grenzlandrennen, in the Mercedes-AMG GT3 of Haribo Racing. After a race time of 4:00.31.323 hours, they left the two BMW M6 GT3 of Walkenhorst Motorsport behind into positions two and three. This was the 50th overall victory in the VLN for the brand of Mercedes-Benz. Uwe Alzen, too, was able to celebrate a jubilee: He achieved his 40th class win in the VLN.

At the sixth round of the season, more drivers yet scored some successes of specific statistical values – in particular in the leading group of the most successful drivers in the history of the VLN.

Loud cheers in the Manta
Ralf Schall, who celebrated the fifth victory in class H4 together with Christopher Gerhard (now 25 times class winner) in the Tam-Racing-Porsche 997 GT3 Cup, can still be found at the very top. He increased his record in the VLN class victory statistics (which was introduced in 1990) onto 87 meanwhile. Closest rival is now Peter Hass, who won class H2 with the support of Olaf Beckmann and Volker Strycek in an Opel Manta, celebrated his 83th class win and consequently moved ahead of Heinz-Otto Fritzsche. Both of his team mates had double reason to celebrate, too, after their successful result. Strycek became class winner in the VLN for the 82nd time and is now in third position together with Fritzsche and Beckmann celebrated the 50th class win in his VLN career.

Record result for Porsche
Together with René Offermann and Nico Menzel, Georg Weiss won class SP10 in the Wochenspiegel-Porsche Cayman 981 GT4 CS – which marked his 30th class win. Actually quite a number of Porsche drivers had reason to celebrate after the sixth race of the season 2016: Not less than ten classes were dominated by a Porsche race car – a result that has never before been achieved in the VLN by this manufacturer. A record result to which contributed amongst others Daniel Schellhaas, Thomas von Löwis of Menar and Axel Duffner: The driver trio of „Care for Climate“ crossed the finish line in their Porsche Cayman GT4 as winners in the class for alternative fuel vehicles (SPAT) – this was the tenth VLN class win for Duffner.

It is meanwhile not surprising that another Porsche won in class SP7 – only Porsche Cup models are competing in this class. Frank Kräling, Marc Gindorf and Christopher Brück in their Frikadelli-Porsche 991 GT3 Cup MR scored a victory with a clear advance. For Kräling, it was the 20th class win in his VLN career. Two of the drivers in the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup entered by the MSC Adenau had double reason to cheer in class SP6: Carsten Welschar and Jörg Wiskirchen finished first together with David Ackermann and each of them achieved his tenth class victory. The same result was scored by Alte Gulbranson who won class SP3T in the Audi TTRS 2.0 together with his team mates from Norway, Hakon Schjærin and Kenneth Østvold.

The brothers Mario and Dominik Farnbacher finished the race with a very special success: They won class SPX in their Lexus RC-F GT3 – it was the 25th VLN class victory for the manufacturer.