24h Race: VLN teams take 15 class wins

Not only the overall winners Black Falcon, but many other well-known VLN teams in addition marked the course and the results of the Nürburgring 24h Race in 2016. Twelve more crews from amongst the regular starters in the VLN endurance championship Nürburgring thus celebrated victories in their respective classes. So almost two third of all class wins went to VLN teams.

It goes without saying that the overall winners also scored a victory in their class. The Black Falcon-Mercedes-AMG GT3 driven by Bernd Schneider, Maro Engel, Adam Christodoulou and Manuel Metzger won class SP9 in which all of the top fourteen in the overall classification had taken the start. Fifteenth position was gained by a Porsche 911 GT3 Cup which was also entered by the Black Falcon team. The drivers were Arturo Devigus, Andreas Weishaupt, Alexander Boquoi Toril and Mario Farnbacher and they won class SP7 with the clear advantage of two laps ahead of the Frikadelli Porsche 911 GT3 Cup with John Shoffner, Janine Hill, Arno Klasen and Duncan Huismann behind the steering wheel.

Class SPX was dominated by the Manthey Racing trio of Christoph Breuer, Christian Gebhardt and Lars Kern in a Porsche Cayman GT4 who prevailed amongst others over the SCG 003C of the Scuderia Cameron Glickenhaus (Thomas Mutsch, Jeff Westphal, Andreas Simonsen, Felipe Laser). The victory in class SP6 went to the rent2Drive-racing-Porsche GT3 Cup driven by David Ackermann, Carsten Welschar, Jörg Wiskirchen and Csaba Walter. The winner in the Cup3 class finally was the team raceunion Teichmann Racing. Their Porsche Cayman GT4 was raced by Hans Holmlund, Tommy Graberg, Scott Marshall and Moritz Gusenbauer who left Mathol Racing and Mühlner Motorsport behind. In class V6, Aurel Schoeller, Andre Kuhn, Miquel Boquoi Toril and „Philip“ scored the third class win for the Team Black Falcon. They won in their Porsche 991 ahead of the two Cayman S of the Team Mathol Racing.

Behind Black Falcon, the team of rent2Drive-racing became the second most successful VLN team in the marathon race in the Eifel. Axel Jahn, Andrei Sidorenko, Florian Quante and Bernd Kleeschulte thus won class V2T in their Renault Megane RS and secured the second class win for their team.

The long distance of the race did not prevent Michael Schrey and Alexander Mies from demonstrating once again their current extraordinary position within the BMW M235i Racing Cup. They both won all the three previous VLN races for Bonk Motorsport and celebrated another win at the classical endurance race, this time supported by Emin Akata and Dries Vanthoor. Once again Thomas Jäger and Rudi Adams (the Scheid-Honert-Motorsport duo was this time completed by Max Partl) presented themselves as the main challengers in the Cup5 class and finished second in their class with a gap of two laps behind the winners.

The events in classes V3, V4, V5, SP3, Cup1 and TCR were also marked by VLN teams: On the top step of the podium celebrated „Brody“, Maciej Drezser, Olivier Muytjens and Bruno Barbaro a win in the Toyota GT86 (V3/AMC Sankt Vith); Christopher Rink, Danny Brink, Gabriele Piana and Niklas Steinhaus in a BMW E90 (V4/Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport); Albert Egbert, Maik Rönnefarth and Michael Hollerweger in a BMW 330i (V5/Schmickler Performance); Junichi Umemoto, Lutz Marc Rühl, Kouichi Okumura and Teruhiko Hamano in a Renault Clio Cup (SP3/Road Runner); Michael Brüggenkamp, Robert Schröder, Johann Wanger and Stefan Tribelhorn in an Opel Astra OPC Cup (Cup1/Lubner Motorsport); Georg Niederberger, Jürgen Wohlfarth, Andreas Guelden and Jordi Gene in a Seat Leon TCR (TCR/mathilda racing).