Presentation ceremony with future prospects regarding the new season

On Saturday, 17th January 2009, the VLN, Veranstaltergemeinschaft Langstreckenmeisterschaft Nürburgring (Organiser Association Endurance Championship Nürburgring), award the most successful 2008 BFGoodrich Endurance Championship Nürburgring competitors their trophies within the scope of a gala event. More than 500 invited guests, among them representatives of all the 11 VLN associates as well as of the partners and sponsors of Europe’s most popular mass sports series, applauded enthusiastically when the 2008 champions, Alexander Böhm (Kelberg) and Matthias Unger (Heusenstamm), were presented their trophies by the VLN Chairman. The cover band ‘Living Planet’ and the spectacular show act ‘Firedancer’ entertained the visitors in fine style. And when the official programmes was over, the sportsmen and sportswomen partied the night away.

At the beginning of his welcome speech, VLN Chairman Hans-Jürgen Hilgeland (Ennepetal) commemorated the late Andreas Mäder (Großkugel) who had successfully competed in the Endurance Championship for many years and passed away last November. Following a short review of the year 2008, Hilgeland looked ahead to the forthcoming season. “The BFGoodrich Endurance Championship will break new ground, in 2009,” he said. “With new regulations, we mainly focus on making for equal opportunities. In addition, we make an increased effort to offer the latest modes of the car manufacturers a basis to even improve the series’ attractiveness, this way.”