The VLN endurance racing championship is a grassroot series which impresses in particular due to its variety in the grid. For this reason, single components as used in the DTM or strict tyre regulations as applicable in Formula 1 are consequently not likely to be followed. All the race cars must, however, be equipped with certain safety devices. The most important ones are:

  • A safety rollcage
  • A six-point safety harness
  • A competition seat with corresponding mountings
  • A door net at the inside of the driver’s door
  • Safety foils on the door windows
  • A master switch, to be operated from the inside and from the outside
  • Toying eyes at the front and at the rear with colour marking
  • Additional boot fasteners on the engine boot and luggage compartment lid
  • A fog light at the rear of the car which must be switched on in the case of rain and poor visibility

The cars in all classes are furthermore fitted with a fire extinguishing system and a safety tank.

Even though the noise at race events is an important point for the spectators, the noise generated by the race cars is restricted in the endurance racing championship. The maximum value for the big race cars is 132 dB and will be measured automatically throughout the entire duration of the event. Any infringement will result in a penalty.

The issue environment is if course not missed out in the endurance racing championship. All the cars are equipped with a catalytic unit and Diesel vehicles have an approved particulate filter.

In addition to the mandatory helmet, all race drivers wear fire-resistant clothing. Compulsory are items such as overall, gloves, balaclava, underwear, socks and shoes, in compliance with the current requirements stipulated by the Sporting Authorities. A condition is also the HANS system, well-known from Formula 1 and the DTM, which shall transfer the forces applied on the upper part of the body in the case of a frontal impact.