The VLN endurance racing championship Nürburgring accommodates a number of car models of about 30 different car manufacturers. In order to combine this range, the division into classes is necessary. There are four categories: VLN Specials, VLN production cars, Group H cars and Cup vehicles. The first three categories are subdivided into classes according to their displacement.

Whilst the Specials mostly include sophisticated race cars with aerodynamic modifications, the production cars live up to their name. Their only differences to road vehicles are safety devices and the option for modifications for example in the area of the suspension. Group H is open for cars up to the year 2008. They are very popular with the spectators and demonstrate quite often that they are yet not of the ‘old guard’. The sporting highlights are the Cups classes in which largely identical vehicles compete against each other. The driving skill hereby is of greater significance than the technology.

VLN production cars

The VLN production cars replaced the VLN series cars in 2013. The new designation will however not change anything in terms of the basic idea which is to bring close-to-standard vehicles to compete at the Nürburgring Nordschleife. The minimum requirements hereby are the mandatory safety devices in the car as well as a certain freedom regarding modifications, for example in the area of the suspension. The engines are in no way modified compared to the standard model. In order to balance cars with different years of manufacture, classification lists are applied for the production cars to bring the cars onto one level through the parameter fuel tank capacity and weight.

VLN-Produktionswagen V1bis 1.620 cm³
VLN-Produktionswagen V2bis 1.800 cm³
VLN-Produktionswagen V3bis 2.000 cm³
VLN-Produktionswagen V4bis 2.500 cm³
VLN-Produktionswagen V5bis 3.000 cm³
VLN-Produktionswagen V6bis 3.500 cm³
VLN-Produktionswagen VT1 (mit Aufladung)bis 1.620 cm³
VLN-Produktionswagen VT2 (mit Aufladung)bis 2.000 cm³
VLN-Produktionswagen VT3 (mit Aufladung)bis 3.000 cm³

Group H / Cup classes

Race cars which are no longer admitted in the main categories of the Specials and the production cars due to the year of manufacture can be entered in Group H. The mostly spectacular race cars are nonetheless not yet of the ‘old guard’. Opel Manta, Ex-DTM-Mercedes and the legendary BMW M3 E30 – to quote just a few famous names in Group H. Even though the teams do not fight for a top position in the overall classification, the engagement of the participants represents a big enrichment for the true fans of the series.

Gruppe H 1 bis 1600 ccm
Gruppe H 2 bis 2000 ccm
Gruppe H 3 bis 3000 ccm
Gruppe H 4 bis 6250 ccm

In 2016, five Cup classes will be at the start. In addition to the cars in the Porsche Carrera Cup and the Porsche Supercup, BMW, Opel and Toyota will be present with three additional Cup classes. For the first time this year, the Cayman GT4 Trophy by Manthey-Racing will also join the championship. The characteristic feature hereby is that under consideration of the identical material, the driving skill is decisive.

VLN-Cup 1Opel Astra OPC Cup
VLN-Cup 2Porsche Carrera Cup
VLN-Cup 3Cayman GT4 Tropgy by Manthey-Racing
VLN-Cup 4TMG GT 86 Cup
VLN-Cup 5BMW M235i Racing Cup

VLN Specials

The Special regulations have been introduced by the ADAC Nordrhein – organiser of the ADAC Zurich 24h Race. They will be applied in the endurance racing championship, too, without any major modifications. The regulations provide many options for modifications on the cars so that almost each and every car model may be used. The category of VLN Specials also includes the worldwide popular GT3 and GT4 cars which are classified in accordance with the FIA and the SRO regulations.

VLN-Specials 1bis 1.400 cm³
VLN-Specials 2T (Turbo)bis 1.750 cm³
VLN-Specials 3bis 2.000 cm³
VLN-Specials 3T (Turbo)bis 2.000 cm³
VLN-Specials 4bis 2.500 cm³
VLN-Specials 4T (Turbo)bis 2.600 cm³
VLN-Specials 5bis 3.000 cm³
VLN-Specials 6*bis 3.500 cm³
VLN-Specials 7*bis 4.000 cm³
VLN-Specials 8*über 4.000 cm³
VLN-Specials 8T (Turbo)*bis 4.000 cm³
VLN-Specials PRO**über 3.000 cm³
VLN-Specials 9(FIA-GT3)
VLN-Specials 10(SRO-GT4).
VLN-Specials X***Sonderfahrzeuge
VLN-Specials AT***Sonderfahrzeuge Alternative Treibstoffe
* Cars with standard engine ** SP6, SP7, SP8 cars without standard engine, Appendix 5, 24h Regulations 2016 *** Admission upon special application only, Appendix 2, 24h Regulations 2016